Skip to main content

Collection on the Ramblers Club

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: M/A 0128

Description of Contents

One box. Collection consists of historical sketches of Minneapolis culture and of the Ramblers Study Club; photographs(1923), newspaper clippings (1936), correspondence(1944-1946), and the club’s annual programs spanning 1899-1949.


  • 1896 - 1949


Access Restrictions

The collection is available for use in Special Collections during the department's open hours.


In September 1896 a group of Minneapolis women formed a study club. The general purpose of the club was the advancement of social, educational and benevolent objects. Their plan was to have a travel club to discuss the topography, art, literature, and music of different countries.

In 1912 the club was incorporated and called "The Ramblers". Meetings were held once a week, in the Minneapolis Public Library from September through April. Membership was limited to 40 active and 10 associate members.

The club was involved in many charitable causes including providing entertainment for factory works, serving for the Red Cross, and donating clothes and money those affected by World War I.

Members Included:

Mrs. J. Brockbank Atkinson, Mrs. C.W. Bailey, Mrs. A E. Benjamin, Miss Lucy Boardman, Mrs. Wm. Mead Booth, Mrs. J.P. Brazill, Miss L. May Brooks, Mrs. Wm. P. Budge, Mrs. William E. Burnham, Mrs. Charles H. Burwell, Mrs. Harry S. Carson, Mrs. C. W. Cartwright, Mrs. Walter H. Cobban, Miss Bessie Chrystie, Mrs. Paul Cross Mrs. A.L. Frappia, Mrs. E. W. Franklin, Mrs. W. A. Freemire, Mrs. J.R. Gilbreath, Mrs. A.D. Goldsmith, Mrs. Chas. L. Grandin, Mrs. Bernard Halvorsen, Mrs. C. J. Hedwall, Miss Alma R. Holland, Mrs. W. M. Hopkins, Mrs. Walter H. Jayne, Mrs. Charles H. Johnson, Mrs. R. E. Johnson, Mrs. H.D. Lackore, Mrs. Spencer H. Lane, Mrs. W.E. Lockerby, Mrs. W. B. MacLean, Mrs. D. G. McIntosh, Mrs. Williams A. Mather, Mrs. Chas. L. Mehagan, Mrs. W. J. Moorhead, Mrs. P. Nash Morse,Mrs. Earl J. Neutson, Mrs. Martin Nordland, Mrs. Milton O. Nelson, Mrs. S. Edgar Noble, Mrs. Charles Oliver, Mrs. Harry N. Owen, Mrs. J.G. Palmer, Mrs. B. C. Pickering, Mrs. John Plum, Mrs. Thomas F. Quinby, Mrs. Arthur B. Ross, Mrs. George E. Schultz, Mrs. John W. Smith, Mrs. Thomas P. Suplee, Mrs. R. T. Svendsen, Mrs. Frederick W. Wesner, Mrs. Emmet White, Mrs. Harvey L. Wilcox, Mrs. R.H. Young.


0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)

Language of Materials


Collection on the Ramblers Club
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Hennepin County Library Special Collections Repository

Minneapolis Central Library
300 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis MN 55401 U.S.A.