Skip to main content

Nineteenth Century Club Programs

Identifier: M/A 0121

Description of Contents

One box. Collection consists of the club’s annual programs spanning 1890-1932.


  • 1890 - 1932


Access Restrictions

The collection is available for use in Special Collections during the department's open hours.


The Nineteenth Century Club was organized in 1890. The purpose of the club was mutual improvement. Meetings were held alternating weeks from October through April.

Membership included:

Mrs. C. C. (Helen T.) Ames, Mrs. William E. Baker, Mrs. L. W. Ballard, Mrs. J. G. Ballord, Mrs. Frank H. Barney, Mrs. L. (Frances G.) Batchelder, Mrs. Hector (Cornelia) Baxter, Mrs. F. W. Beckman, Mrs. Emma E. Beard, Mrs. Ward H. (Eleanor P.) Benton, Mrs. Frank S. (Blanche S.) Bissell, Mrs. F. M. Blymer, Mrs. Grace S. Boswell, Mrs. Leroy J. Boughner, Mrs. J. E. Bradley, Mrs. F. W. Bresee, Mrs. C. E. Brewster, Mrs. Henry F. Brown, Mrs. Edward P. (Harriet) Burch, Miss Florence Burtis, Mrs. Chas. Cairns, Mrs. L. F. Carpenter, Mrs. Charles W. (Mary L.) Cartwright, Mrs. A. J. Chesley, Mrs. Emanuel Cohen, Miss Gertrude K. Colby, Mrs. Hovey C. Clarke, Miss Ella Byers Clerihew, Mrs. Theodore D. (Hilda W.) Crocker, Mrs. J. S. Crombie, Mrs. John P. Devaney, Mrs. J. D. Du Shane, Mrs. Charles B. (Edith W.) Elliott, Mrs. Owen J. (Tamazene McKee) Evans, Mrs. Robert E. Farr, Mrs. C. M. (Margaret) Ferguson, Mrs. Frederick S. Fletcher, Mrs. William B. Folds, Miss Charlotte E. Folds, Mrs. O. J. Fowler, Mrs. G. B. Frankforter, Mrs. Jewell Fuller, Mrs. J.P. Gilmore, Mrs. Robert Glendenning, Mrs. W. I. (Isabelle Wells) Gray, Mrs. Albert H. (Nellie Pearson) Hall, Mrs. Thomas B. Hartzell, Mrs. W. E. Haskell, Mrs. R. C. Haywood, Miss Clara Hill, Miss Anne Hill , Mrs. William S. Hill, Mrs. Lorin Hord, Miss Grace Greenwood Hoyt, Mrs. C.T. (Madeleine) P. Jaffray, Mrs. Thomas A. Jamieson, Mrs. E.M. Johnson, Mrs. W. A. Jones, Mrs. F. M. Joyce, Mrs. George B. Keenan, Miss Elizabeth J. Kernan, Mrs. Claude D. Kimball, Mrs. V. S. Kidd, Mrs. Marsh J. (Effie W.) Lamberton, Mrs. Marc C. Leager, Mrs. William B. Leach, Mrs. Walter C. Leach, Miss Lucy Leach, Miss Mary E. Lindsay, Mrs. J. C. (Elizabeth) Litzenberg, Mrs. George Loughland, Mrs. Ceylon E. (Alice Mitchell) Lyman, Mrs. E. P. Lyon, Mrs. George Lyon, Mrs. John T. Macnie, Mrs. W. J. Marcley, Mrs. H. C. Maughan, Mrs. Earl (Stella B.) May, Mrs. E. E. (Marie A.) McDermott, Mrs. Walter McDonald, Mrs. D. G. Mc Intosh, Mrs. S. B. Meader, Mrs. H. V. (Edith C.) Mercer, Mrs. A. Mohler, Mrs. E. J. Moles, Mrs. Henry L. (Nettie) Moore, Mrs. John H. Morse, Mrs. Weed (Georgia) Munro, Mrs. Harry P. Nichols, Mrs. Harry N. (Mabel C.) Owen, Mrs. J. M. (Mary Louise) Parker, Mrs. William S. (Julia E.) Pattee, Mrs. A. C. Paul, Mrs. Charles Pillsbury, Mrs. Walter Poehler, Mrs. M. D. (Belle) Purdy, Mrs. John H. (Genevieve E.) Ray, Mrs. Soren P. (Estelle C.) Rees, Miss Virginia Reno, Mrs. Williston C. Rich, Mrs. W. C. (Sophia H.) Rich, Miss Nellie Rickey, Mrs. Mary E. Roberts, Miss Jane Robinson, Mrs. George Rust, Mrs. W. A. Schaper, Mrs. A. M. Scott, Miss Laura Sikes, Mrs. S. S. Small, Mrs. Norman M. Smith, Mrs. William E. Smith, Mrs. C. M. Stockton, Mrs. Clarence W. Thomas, Mrs. B. H. Timberlake, Mts. H. A. (Amanda) Tuttle, Mrs. J. D. Vanderbilt, Mrs. H. C. Vogel, Mrs. Harry B. Wakefield, Mrs. Lyman E. Wakefield, Mrs. George Bertram Ware, Mrs. Thomas E. (Marie J.) Weeks, Mrs. George S. (Alice) Wheaton, Mrs. S. Marx (Sarah A.) White , Mrs. Asa S. Wilcox, Mrs. H. W. Wilson, Miss Mary Ford Winston, Mrs. F. W. Wittich, Mrs. H. L. Woodburn, Mrs. Franklin R. Wright, Mrs. O. C. Wyman, Mrs. A. E. Zonne


0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)

Language of Materials


Nineteenth Century Club Programs
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Hennepin County Library Special Collections Repository

Minneapolis Central Library
300 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis MN 55401 U.S.A.