Skip to main content

Collection on the Minnesota Twins

Identifier: M/A 0291

Description of Contents

The Minnesota Twins Collection consists of 8 boxes and 2 scrapbooks. Boxes 1 through 4 include full newspapers and clippings. Programs and Scorecards, Media Guides, and Magazines are filed in boxes 5 through 7. Box 7 also includes reports and publications, promotional material, and miscellaneous items. Realia is located in Box 8. Oversize 1 and 2 are scrapbooks consisting of newspaper clippings.


  • 1960 - 2002


Access Restrictions

The collection is available for use in Special Collections during the department's open hours.


Minnesota has a long history of baseball that includes amateur teams organized throughout the state before the Civil War. In 1884, four Minnesota cities boasted professional minor league teams (Northwestern League): Minneapolis, St. Paul, Stillwater, and Winona. The teams could not financially sustain the season and had to transfer to the Union Association, the nation's major league in operation at the time. St. Paul is credited as Minnesota's first major league team.

The next several years reflected issues arising from inconsistent funding and lack of organization. With the turn of the century, new leagues were forming, including the creation of the American League (major league) in 1901. In 1902, the St. Paul Saints and the Minneapolis Millers became charter members in a new minor league, the American Association. The teams played in the American Association for 59 seasons. The Millers and Saints topped the league, respectively first- and second-best records, of all the teams that played in that period.

Amateur baseball is a proud tradition in Minnesota and remains active throughout the state. Even so, most of baseball's spotlight has been focused on the major league since 1961. Major League Baseball granted Minneapolis an extension team in 1960. Instead of creating the extension team in Minnesota, the Washington (D.C.) Senators were transferred to Minnesota upon Washington owner Calvin Griffith's request. The extenstion team was formed in Washington, D.C. The name "Twins" was carefully deliberated to encompass both Minneapolis and St. Paul without favoritism and hopeful of widespread support, inclusive of the "Twin" Cities. Minnesota was enthusiastic about the new team even though its years in Washington had not been exceptional. Great players emerged in these early years of Minnesota Twins baseball, including Bob Allison; Baseball Hall of Famers Harmon Killebrew and Rod Carew; Tony Oliva, American League's 1964 Rookie of the Year; and Zoilo Versalles, American League's 1965 Most Valuable Player. The Minnesota Twins won the American League Pennant in 1965. The team went to the World Series in 1965 but lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers.

In 1912, Clark Griffith, baseball player and manager, bought 10 percent interest in the Washington Senators. In 1919, Griffith purchased controlling interest that began the long-standing Griffith ownership of the team. Calvin Griffith took over ownership in 1954. Ownership of the Minnesota Twins stayed with the Griffith family until 1984 when it was sold to Carl Pohlad.

Under new ownership and with the addition of new players, the Minnesota Twins won the World Series Championship in 1987 and 1991 against the St. Louis Cardinals and the Atlanta Braves respectively. Hall of Famers Kirby Puckett, Bert Blyleven, and Steve Carlton, as well as Frank Viola, American League's 1988 Most Valuable Player and recipient of the Cy Young Award, and Kent Hrbek are among the players that led the Twins to World Series Champions in 1987. Chuck Knoblauch, 1991 Rookie of the Year, joined the team that saw another success in 1991 as World Series Champions.

In the first decade of the twenty-first century, the Twins compiled the longest streak of consecutive winning seasons since moving to Minnesota. This period also marks controversy over talk of relocation of the team to a different city. Because of the financial weaknesses the team faced in relation to other teams in the league, discussions circulated about moving the Twins to a different city, threatening to end major league baseball in Minnesota. A contributing issue in these debates was the stadium that the Twins played in, the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome. Public and private support came to the Minnesota Twins to build a new, outdoor stadium that would be used only for baseball and have natural turf. The inaugural game was played in Target Field on April 12, 2010. Prior to that, the Metrodome had served as the Twins' stadium from 1982. Previous to the Metrodome, the Metropolitan Stadium had been the Twins' home field since their inception in 1961.


7.58 Linear Feet (8 boxes, 2 oversize)

Language of Materials


Collection on the Minnesota Twins
Rebecca Wolf
December 2013
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Hennepin County Library Special Collections Repository

Minneapolis Central Library
300 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis MN 55401 U.S.A.